Nav Ad Widget - Mobile

Collapse

Nav Ad Widget - Desktop

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Buying vintage rolexes from reputable sellers..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying vintage rolexes from reputable sellers..

Hi all,

Would just like to ask the experienced people here as I am totally new to the world of vintage rolex watches..

Am eyeing either a 5513 or a 1680 from a reputable 2nd hand shop (will not name cos I'm not sure if it's against forum rules and if it's fair to the seller).. But I'm not sure what I need to "look out for" as I heard that parts such as the dial etc may have been changed down the line which may drastically affect the value of the watch.. Which is the reason I have been very hesitant about going for vintage watches.. It's one thing searching the forums to see what the old birds do, it's another thing when you're there and don't really know what you're looking at..

My question is if it's a renowned seller with quite solid reputation, is it OK to take it at face value that the watch is OK? Or is there much more I need to check out before plunging in..

Thanks for your time...

it really depends how particular you are. if you are really particular, then the watch may not be what you are looking for. however, if you are not really particular, then you may want to discuss with the shop if it is possible for you to bring to RSC to authenticate.

click here for more information.

click here for dial variants.

if you are going to be particular, then things you need to look out for,

1) case - serial number of case matches that of the dial and vice versa
    2) is the case over polished?
    3) crown - is it replaced? is it the right type aka 3 dots @ the bottom of crown
    4) is the bracelet using the correct end links?

5) is the bracelet clasp code matching to the case number as case number gives a estimate production year period.
    6) is the case pitted?

the list goes on.