Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sub vs GMT IIc

Hi,

I am a Rolex newbie myself. Decided to get my first rolex which will either be Sub or GMT IIc.

After much reading of this and other Rolex forums, decided Sub date would be my first Rolex.
    Sub date is such a classic, its cheaper, and I like the bezel better as it's cleaner. I managed to secure a pre-owned set at a reasonable price. At time of purchase, there was another GMT IIc, but I did not even try it as the premium is 2K over the Sub date.

After wearing my Sub date for several weeks, I began to yearn for the GMTIIc, with its maxi dial and ceramic bezel after having seen the real thing. The dial has more clarity and presence due to maxi-lume and thicker hour-minute hands. Initially, I thought as a compromised is to get the LV (same maxi lume-dial and thicker hour/min hands) and change the bezel insert to Black. But the GMTIIc has a few other innovations (ceramic bezel, parachrom hairping) vs the Sub LV. After calling the same shop which happen to have a piece of GMT IIc, I paid them a visit. After putting on the GMTIIc, I traded in my Sub at slight discount.

Here's "my" pros and cons of the Sub vs GMT IIc.
    Pros
    - better built, the moment I held it, it feels more substantial, the new case, bracelet and clasp (with easylink for quick bracelet fine adjustment) feels solid, and fits better and more snug on the wrist.
    - the cyclop over the date has anti-reflective coat, makes it so much clearer looking at date.
    - the ceramic bezel is splendid, its tough, turns smoothly and has slight glossy sheen that gives the watch more presence.
    - I am not sure if the crystal has AR coating, but probably the shallower depth b/w the crystal and dial surface and the maxi lume makes reading better vs the Sub which has slightly deeper crystal to dial depth and smaller hands thickness and lume markers