Preowned 40mm Explorer II

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preowned 40mm Explorer II

Thinking of picking up my first Rolex, so i am a complete newbie, but i do like the white face explorer II, tried on a new 42mm version, felt it was a bit big for my puny wrist, and the price tag was also a little scary. Then i came across several used 40mm Explorer II for sale for around 4-5k and am thinking of starting off with that, to minimize damage in case i regret getting a rolex....and 40mm does seem to be a better fit for my wrist size...

Is this a wise move? or should I grit my teeth and go with a new 42mm white face explorer II?

a warm pre-welcome to you

you tried the 42mm... but think about the 40mm while still might consider the 42mm

my honest opinion is that you should get what you really want there... yes price is always the issue but if you get something that you like (slightly) less, you might end up flipping it and losing more in the long run, and eventually not enjoying the whole Rolex experience..

just curious, why the explorer series instead of subs/djs?

Comment

hmm why not subs? good question...i will try to answer...I travel pretty often for my work and the countries i go to usually have got different time zone; so a GMT watch will be good. Plus i've already got dive style watches, not in the same league as the submariner for sure, but similar in looks and function (skx 007, OM, seamaster etc) so can't justify the purchase of such an expensive dive watch to my wife haha and i really really like the white face on the explorer....

Comment

ah I see.. that explains...

So you have GMT Master II and Explorer II for the GMT function.... GMT is more dive-ish and that's why it is out I guess

In addition, you like white face (Hi 5! :P)

How big does the 42mm felt on your wrist since you tried it?

My wrist is 6.7... quite flat... and the 42mm felt very much at home on my wrist

How is yours?