Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does it mean?

Hi to all you experts ,

I'm a super newbie here and trying to understand more. Why do some of the watches have Swiss made below the 6 o'clock mark while some have something like Swiss T< 45 kinda wordings? Whats the difference?

This is referring to the chemical applied to the hands and hour markers for luminescence. In the early days, way before most of us were born , Tritium was used as the luminous material. Tritium is radioactive and so the manufacturer is required to indicate the radioactive emission of the watch. I believe the maximum limit allowable is 25 millicurie. Thus, SWISS T < 25 indicates that the amount of chemical used on the watch, emits an amount of less than 25 millicurie of Tritium.

Later, Tritium was replaced with Luminova as the source of luminescence. Luminova is organic and non-radioactive. Being such, the manufacturer is not required to indicate its radioactive emission. In most cases, SWISS MADE indicates that Luminova is the luminous material.
    Last edited by ejaan; 03-09-08, 10:38 AM.

Comment

another lesson learnt! cheers to bro ejaan!

Comment

What does it mean

That's amazing.... Good knowledge... So it's also an indication of the age of the timepiece right? My friend got a piece of explorer 2 with that marking, wanting to sell it to me, but I want to know the age and a reasonable price before I decide..... Dear experts, any advise on which year of production it might be?

Comment

sounds like history class, but i like it.

Comment

To determine the year of production for the watch it is best to refer to the serial number. This forum has a list of watch's production year with their corresponding serial number.

Comment

Originally posted by grex View Post