Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions for my first Rolex

Hi all,

Absolute newbie here.. I used to browse Watchuseek more frequently and subsequently discovered this place, which is cool especially since I get to view the opinions of fellow S'poreans..

So I bought my first and only "serious" watch, an Omega Speedmaster Professional a month ago, from THG Raffles Hotel. Before that I bought a Seiko Orange Monster, a Russian Aviator watch and a couple of G shocks. However I've always lusted after a Rolex, and this forum has certainly not helped things..

I have narrowed down my options to the Submariner Date, the Explorer (39mm) and the Explorer II. However having only just bought a costly watch, I am reluctant to splurge so soon again..

So in your opinion, are there many advantages of an Explorer/Explorer II to the Sub, other than cost? Does it offer more watch for the money? I am willing to consider trying the preowned route, despite being totally unfamiliar with it.. Right now I'm willing to spend at most $5k, including whatever servicing might be needed if I go used..

Or is the Sub so iconic and essential that I should just save and wait until I feel financially capable and guiltless enough to get one?

Your thoughts, please!

Actually your dilemma is not unique and most started out feeling lost. Iconic or not, it is up to an individual. Which (model) has more advantages thus, becomes subjective. Why? If you dive, and dive with a ROLEX watch, which model gives you the advantages? If you travel overseas frequently, and explore the corners of the world wearing a ROLEX watch also, then which model now gives you the advantages?