FINALLY!!! (1St Pam)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FINALLY!!! (1St Pam)

After some anxious weeks of delays and waiting (including a last minute surprise LE number change), I am finally a Pamily man!

First let me say I'm not a WIS, and being a complete noob to Panerais, I think I'm just too uneducated to fully appreciate the simplicity of the base models which seem so popular with 1st time owners. I can't see myself getting a watch just because of its history or movement. The few watches I have, I bought because I like how it looks -- and most importantly, how I feel wearing it. Heck, I don't even mind a good quartz...

In the course of researching Pams, I read over and over how important it is NOT to settle and to "be patient and get the one you really desire". So, after a long thought I decided NOT to settle and I went and get my wife to buy me my grail... a brand new 193 Depth Gauge!

Sure, it's not the most popular Pam out there. But I dunno, from the very first time I laid eyes on it, it just... sings to me! When I was thinking about writing this "First Pam" post, I tried to come up with some logical reasons "Why the 193?". Is it because there's only 600 of 'em? Because it has a T-dial? Because it's got it's own category on Panerai.com? Because the 120m Depth Gauge IS actually certified & functional? (and yes, I do fully intend to dive with it)... At the end, I thought you know what? How can anyone RATIONALIZE plunking down multi-$K for a watch?? I got it because it puts a stupid grin on my face! Because it makes me FEEL HUGE JOY & HAPPINESS!! And yes, I do finally get how Panerais are not JUST a watch!! (-- as a matter of fact, the 193 is literally NOT a watch -- it's a "Professional Instrument" :grin: )

So, here's a few first impressions: