Nav Ad Widget - Mobile

Collapse

Nav Ad Widget - Desktop

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Buying a gift for hubby - need expert advice!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a gift for hubby - need expert advice!

Hi all,

Have been reading your forums for a bit and find you guys extremely knowlegeable and helpful! I'm hoping I can get help as I am a newbie to the luxury watch world. I'm planning a 30th bday gift for my hubby but unfortunately have a limited budget of S$5000 at the most! Also, he is not a watch-lover (he has worn the same thing for 10 yrs!) so Im not sure how much he will 'appreciate" the mechanics etc but I know he will appreciate the quality at least.

I have been doing some research and have narrowed down to a few choice of brands
    1) omega - like the Speedmaster and I can get a model I like for 3500 at airport - but its not the same league as IWC etc

2) IWC - def LOVE the vintage and pilots but I'm very cautious abt them being way out of my budget! Im quite shy lah so not thick-skinned enough to go into ADs and ask abt all the prices

3) JLC - but havent done much research on it yet, except that they command even higher prices?

4) Baume & Mercier - but I get this feeling it is also a similar league brand like Omega, although I love some of their designs

So my questions are:
    - which brand/watch do u recommend for a first time buyer with a 5k budget
    (after reading your posts I'm beginning to lose interest in the Omega and and eyeing the IWC!)
    - i know it all depends on my hbby's personal taste etc but i think we both prefer the "classic" look without too many things on the dial (but simplie chrono will be nice) and not too sporty (dont like the diving ones as too 'heavy')

Im sorry for such a long post, but will really appreciate all the help you guys can give! thanks!!

lucky man. buy rolex, all waste time

Comment

Welcome to the forum

Originally posted by slang27 View Post