• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Watch Storage & straps qns

Hello to all,

Im pretty new to watches so wld like to ask a few rather basic question:
    how do you all store your watches?
    in the original box/case? in a watch case? in a winder?
    need to put silica gel? how often do you need to take out and wind the watch?

also, i see that a lot of people have multiple straps for a watch. So do you guys change the strap yrself? and how do you change it DIY? i observed the strap and there isnt a place to unscrew the strap and the lug.

lastly, what is a "good cloth" to clean yr watch? need to damp it alittle? and where to get such cloths?

Thank you for yr patience for reading these noobish qns....

can any brother help?

Comment

Originally posted by lordofkings View Post
      Hello to all,

Im pretty new to watches so wld like to ask a few rather basic question:

also, i see that a lot of people have multiple straps for a watch. So do you guys change the strap yrself? and how do you change it DIY? i observed the strap and there isnt a place to unscrew the strap and the lug.

lastly, what is a "good cloth" to clean yr watch? need to damp it alittle? and where to get such cloths?

Thank you for yr patience for reading these noobish qns....
      for me, i keep the watches in a watch display box (didn't put silica gel). i only wind them when i need to wear them. if i've the time, i'll put the watch in my single winder once a week to wind it.

As for strap change, i ask the AD to do it for me. It's their aftersales service and i can take that opportunity to admire other watches in the showcase.

Cleaning of watches - only do it when i wear it....some watches come with cleaning cloth (generic ones) so i use the same cloth for the rest of the watches.
      I can resist anything but temptation. - Oscar Wilde

Current collection
      A.Lange & Sohne Grand Langematik
      Audemars Piguet ROO
      Blancpain Fifty Fathoms (Dark Knight)